The ‘pandemic’ destroying the world’s favorite fruit

Abhi Misra
1 min readJun 24, 2020

--

The Pandemic has not only been affecting us but also the way we eat fruit. You must be thinking about covid 19 but no it is actually Tropical Race 4 (TR4). This disease affects bananas and now people are panicking and wondering if the ‘Banana Pandemic’ which shortage the amount of the world’s favorite fruit. The disease is basically a type of fungus that crawls in the banana crop and enters the bananas that we may eat. Although the fungus doesn’t harm humans, it is still minimizing the amount of bananas in the world.

You might be thinking, How does TR4 affect bananas? Well, what actually happens is that the fungus destroys the vascular tissue and stops the bananas from making their food. And if they cannot make their own food, they will eventually die of starvation.

But just like Covid-19, the question is not only if we can find a cure, but also how do we live with a “new normal” that will change bananas forever?

By: Abhi

--

--

Abhi Misra

Hello everybody. My name is Abhi and I am 11 years old. I love to write articles but when I saw medium, my life changed. I hope you like the articles I send.